Mizzou Give Direct

College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources

Goal: $50,000


$34,231.41 (68%) raised

Need: $15,768.59

Atmospheric Science

Dr. Grant Darkow Scholarship Fund

Dr. Grant Darkow ‘s legacy to atmospheric sciences dealing with the circulation properties leading to the formation of thunderstorms was instigated through an Agricultural Experiment Station research project. The early research focused on the contribution of the wind shears associated with the low-level jet and the definition of a static energy index for describing the instability leading to severe thunderstorm formation. Dr. Darkow also compiled a catalog of tornado occurrences in Missouri. This effort continued during his career producing a very complete history of tornado activity in the state. Dr. Darkow was identified as UM’s Scientific Representative to the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR). He served as a member of the UCAR Board of Trustees from 1972 through 1974. He was also member of the Membership Committee from 1976 through 1978 serving as its Chair in 1978. He served on the University Relations Committee 1973-74 and again 1980-82. Dr. Grant Darkow is also a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society. Scholarships will be given to students with extraordinary service to the atmospheric science program, student clubs and the community. Please join us in honoring Dr. Darkow by supporting the scholarship in his name.


Alan SiegelAmy MeyerAndrea Campbell
Anne CraverAnthony LupoArden Boyer-Stephens
Boone Hospital Center Boone Hospital Center Medical Staff Borman Farm
Boyce & Bynum Pathology Lab PC Brynn KerrCarol Magruder
Caryl DarkowCharla KleopferChristine Kanne
Christopher RatleyChristopher SawallClarence Sakamoto
Colin SeeConfidential Donor Confidential DonorDarlene Schroeder
Debbie AntelDelores KnippDenny Hollingsworth
Diane SawallDonald MeyerDou-Mei Liu
Douglas BotnerElmer KiehlEmployees of BHC Laboratory
Eric KelseyErnest KungFitzgibbon Lab Staff
G. HahnGary WeismanGrant Darkow
Gregory CampbellH. DonnellHarlan Borman
Henry LiuHowell WheatonIdella Olinger
James MagruderJeffrey CraverJerome Antel
Jill SchmidtJoan DarkowJoan Mudrick
Joane O'ConnorJohn O'ConnorJoseph Schroeder
Kathleen HaleyKathleen HeckKathleen Livingston
Keith GoyneLaura VandenBoschLenard Politte
Linda MorrisLynn BirkbyLynn Kleopfer
MU Meteorology Club Margaret LeMoneMargery Lichte
Marguerite JohnsonMarie McCollomMarion Sherman
Martha DeckerMartha DonnellMary Dohrmann
Mary PolitteMoray KiehlOwen Thompson
Patricia Placke Munn Patricia SiegelPaul Heck
Peter GilmanRadiology Consultants, Inc. Ralph Olinger
Ranae SeeRebecca HennessyRichard LeDuc
Richard LivingstonRobert HaleyRobert Johnson
Robert TrappRobert VandenBoschRobert Young
Roberta GriffinRoger ReinkingSandra Weisman
Sharon LeDucShirley LittyStephen Mudrick
Susan KungThomas DresserTim Hennessy
Victoria YoungWayne DeckerWayne McCollom
William BirkbyWilliam Griffin