Mizzou Give Direct

Missouri School of Journalism

Goal: $25,000


$35,292.09 (141%) raised

Over the Goal: $10,292.09

Dean of Journalism

Pam Johnson Journalism Scholarship

Pam Johnson, BJ '69, believed in getting the facts right and getting the right facts. Integrity, responsibility, ethics and accountability were all pillars on which she built her career.

Johnson rose to leadership editorial positions with The Kansas City Times, The Kansas City Star, the Phoenix Gazette and the Arizona Republic. She later served on the leadership faculty of the Poynter Institute and was the founding executive director of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute from 2004 until her retirement in 2011.

Honored with the Pulitzer Prize and the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism, Johnson also served as president of the Associated Press Managing Editors and was a founding member of Journalism and Women Symposium (JAWS).

Johnson is widely respected as a champion of female and minority journalists. This scholarship honors her legacy by providing support to minority students attending the Missouri School of Journalism.

Andy Miller Barry HymanBetty Winfield
Beverly HorvitBill Dalton Catharine Hamm Skolnik
Charles CrewsCindy Roe Cindy Weaver
Colin Kilpatrick Connie and Dale Bye Dale Longenecker
Daryl MoenDaryl WeilDave Zeeck
David FirestoneDavid Herzog Dolores Beasley
Doniver CampbellDonna WallerDot Kinard
Douglas WeaverElizabeth JordanEmilie Keeton
Fidelity Foundation Fred Schecker G. Fred Wickman
Gerald JordanGlenn and Kelly DeMeritt James Fitzpatrick
Janet BurtJanet RussowJanice Baucom
Jean RomigJennifer JohnsonJewish Community Foundation of Greater Kansas City
Jim and Kaki Kinard John C Finley MD John Leach
Joseph MayerJoy MayerJulia Wallace
Karen FulmerKay ReadKeith Chrostowski
Keven Ann Willey Linda LindquistLinda Tuller
Louis WeilMarcia TammeusMark Horvit
Mark and Rhonda Zieman Mary Lou Nolan Matthew Johnson on behalf of Pam Johnson
Melinda Parks Michael WallerMike DeArmond
Mike Fancher Mike Hendricks Mike Zakoura
Miriam Pepper Myrta PulliamPatricia Fitzpatrick
Randy Picht Randy and Joyce Smith Richard Baucom
Rilla MillsRobert RussowRonald Romig
SMSD Athletic Directors Steve Adams Steve Paul
Sue MillsSusan Crawford The Olathe School District Athletic Directors
Tom Warhover Vanguard Charitable Endowment Program Vickie Walton-James
Wiemann Family William TammeusWilliam Turque
Yael Abouhalkahmyron levin