Mizzou Give Direct

Missouri School of Journalism

Goal: $75,000


$45,575 (60%) raised

Need: $29,425

Dean of Journalism

Mary Kay Blakely New York Program Fund

Mary Kay Blakely joined the Missouri School of Journalism faculty in 1997, teaching intermediate and advanced magazine writing as well as a graduate seminar, Literature of Journalism. A contributing editor to Ms. magazine and former Hers columnist for The New York Times, she authored the critically acclaimed books, “Wake Me When It’s Over,” “American Mom” and “Red, White and Oh So Blue.” Her essays on social and political issues appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Mother Jones, LIFE, Vogue, Family Circle, Self, Parents, Newsday, Los Angeles Times Magazine, Lear’s, Glamour, Working Woman as well as other national publications. In 2000, Blakely established a partnership with the New School University to launch the Missouri School of Journalism’s summer program in New York, providing students with internships, professional experience and a multimedia course of study in Manhattan.

The fund, created in memory of Blakely who passed in 2023, will support the school’s New York Program, providing essential operating resources as well as scholarships and experiential opportunities for students studying in the program.

Alexandra and Erik Jorgensen Amanda Hinnant + Jeremy Root Betty Houchin Winfield, University of Missouri Curators Professor Emerita
Brad Reagan Brett Jorgensen Burny
Catherine Allen and Paul Rooker Chad Painter Charlie and Becky Hanger
Chris Cottone Colin Kilpatrick Darren + Sarah
Dave and Julie Walker Debra BlakelyDevoney Looser and George Justice
Emmy Hayes Ezzie Russell and Linda Natho Glenn Leshner
Jesse and Carla Jorgensen Judith Fischer Judy Jorgensen
Lee Kravetz Lindsay Powers Loretta
Marcy McGinnisMartha K. Baker Mary Lou Vainisi Chuck Jacobson
Melissa Myers Nancy Jorgensen and John Hoffman Nancy L. Schultz
Pat Smith Paul BlakelyPhyllis Wender
Randall smith Regina Blakely + Jennifer Barnes Reuben Stern
Sally Spasovski Sandy Davidson Sarah Tucker
Shelley Williams Stephen JorgensenTom and Judy Nichols
Wayne Brownjudy miller steve weinberg