Mizzou Give Direct

College of Arts and Science

Goal: $25,000

$27,195 (108%) raised Over the Goal: $2,195


Michael J. Porter Chair's Enhancement Fund

After 35 years of service to Mizzou as a professor, adviser and chair of the Department of Communication, Dr. Michael J. Porter retired in 2014. Thousands of students, from those who experienced his introductory radio & TV classes to those he mentored as a doctoral adviser, have been touched by his efforts.

In honor of Dr. Porter's dedication to MU and the Department of Communication, his colleagues, friends, family & former students established the Michael J. Porter Chair's Enhancement Fund. This endowed fund will provide assistance where it is needed most, including supporting scholarships, internship opportunities, & faculty enhancement. In this way, Dr. Porter will continue to shape the Department of Communication for years to come.

Thank you friends of Michael Porter! The generous donations of those listed below helped us reach our goal of $25,000.

Christein Aromando, Michael & Sherri Atchison, Helen & Patrick Atkinson, John & Linda Bennett, Margaret Miller Butcher, Carly Coccaro, Kevin & Lesley Crane, Brady & Anne Deaton, General Mills Foundation, Nabiha Calcuttawala & Erik Jacobsen, Tracy & Robert Feller, Mark Glantz, Ron Gottschalk, Anna & David Hargis, Leigh Anne & Kendall Haun, Judy Healy-Mendez, Stacia Hentz, Lisa & John Hickok, Alison Hill, Yahya Kamalipour, Sara Kelly, Frances Kendall & Mark Ford, Sarah & Matthew Kerner, William Lamberg, Duane Lammers, Kimberly Smith Landry, James Littrell, Jeffrey McCall, Mitchell McKinney, Dean & Sue Mills, Ryan Montague, Michael Mulvihill, John Ogan, Melvin Platt, Rose & Michael Porter, Steven Richardson, Stan Silvey, Julie Slead, Siobhan Smith, Jeffrey Stirnaman, Aaron Stoller, Ted & Marjorie Tarkow, Sheila Carpenter Tredway, Jean Viox, Thomas Webb, Caroline Weston, Darrin & Susan Widick, Jason & Melissa Wright, Sijie Yao